What was I doing on 9/11?

I believe a lot of people agree on the statement that everyone remember exactly what they were doing when the towers were hit and then hell broke loose. I do as if it was yesterday and yet, the 15th milestone is already here.

Before getting into my version of the events on that dreadful day, let me back things upn by just one week. I have just arrived to the US in March of 2001 ( Country I love now as a proud Citizen ) with my family, landed on my dream job. As soon as we got settled, my wife was planning our first trip. She wanted to go see Niagara Falls, so we got a rental car and drove over there by the first week of September. It was really awesome. Life was so simple. The Canadian border stamped our passports and just like that, welcome to Canada. We had a great time. On our way back, we went thru Chicago, so we did stop there. This is pretty much one week before 9/11. Hold on to that thought…. My daughters were little girls and I wanted them to experience the Sears Tower because that’s something I did myself when I was young. When we got to the top, we were looking to the horizon and as I was watching their body language and face expressions in awe ( theirs and mine, because of theirs !! ) I was telling them something like….”Next stop ( for our next family vacation ) would be something twice spectacular !!!.. the Twin Towers in NYC !!!!!”….. yup, I couldn’t keep my promise. Little did I know that a week later, not just both towers would be gone but our way of life would be changed forever.

So, it is 15 year commemoration and I still remember that Tuesday as if it was yesterday. We used to have a staff meeting on Tuesdays. As we were walking out of the conference room towards our lab, everyone was puzzled and scratching our heads trying to make sense of what our lab had on display on every TV we had setup for different testing purposes. A building on fire of sorts with lots of smoke and confusion all over the place. Everyone jumping to conclusions on how the hell a plane could’ve missed the fact that there was a huge building in front !!!…. all kinds of comments, trying to rationalize the whole situation when, right there, in front of our own eyes, the second plane hit the second tower……. silence…. disbelief…. it took a couple of minutes for everyone to regain self control so, talking was resumed. When both towers were smoking, one peer said out loud … “Can you believe there is people dying right there right now?”…. we were trying to process that thought when the first tower collapsed !!!!!….. there was another peer who got really pissed saying that he was there once and now the building was GONE !!! ( That’s pretty much how he said it… GONE, GONEEEE !!!! ). Of course there was more to come when the second tower fell. Needless to say, work was cancelled, we all went home to get our kids from school. I remember watching TV for two days in a raw, late at night, still immersed in my own toughs, completely  shocked and traumatized knowing there wasn’t  much I could do. The hate enforced on almost 3,000 souls on that single day, were a lot of them were people from all parts of the world, taught me that there are people out there willing to hurt everyone, regardless of any classification ( ethnicity, political, religious, economical, etc ) one may think of. Yes, 9/11 still gets me into deep thoughts of depression of sorts. Still ask my self why and I can’t get the right answers. The thing that troubles me the most is that we lost almost three thousand good people on that day but the matter of fact is that another thousands were already dead but they just didn’t know it yet. We have lost way more that three thousand over these 15 years and  that didn’t stop the madness of similar attacks all over the world. Why can’t we get along?….that is actually a very deep question.

Author: rrgindy

I just love to type whatever comes off my mind at the time..... this blog is the right tool to share those thoughts, ideas, stories, comments, analysis or any way you may want to cut it, slice it, etc....so, let the finger's dance on the keyboard begin !!!

Leave a Reply

