Philosophical Friday

I joke about working 125% Monday to Thursday all the time. The extra 25% adds up to 100%, so I don’t have to do anything on Friday !!!…. well, today is Friday and I just don’t feel like burying myself into work. That’s that…. then, I am chatting with my peer from next cube and he is talking about retirement. That trigger some thoughts and that’s why I am writing this blog. I am getting some conflicting messages… let me explain. I am not that close to retirement but I am not that far away either. So, on the one hand, I do get tired and out of gas by Friday and I just deliberately take things easy. On the other hand, when I go thru my weekend ( particularly long weekends like Memorial Day, Labor Day…etc ), I get bored and do things that are not good for my health ( like stuffing my belly with cakes and things of that sort… yeah, beer is one of those things too ). The thought that got me thinking is that I am facing a paradox, which I don’t know how to solve. I am  getting tired of working all the time but at the same time, work is what keeps me busy and therefore restrained from harming myself with bad habits. So, retirement will come and then what am I going to do?…. eat cakes and drink beer to death?…. no, I do not like the sound of that. Life can be cruel and this is just one good example. I enjoy life by being productive but time and age does not help this case !!!!…. I’ll keep thinking about it and I believe I should better start developing good  habits over the weekend now, so retirement won’t take me by surprise….. still years away and yet, I know that it takes just one blink of an eye and time just fly……..

Author: rrgindy

I just love to type whatever comes off my mind at the time..... this blog is the right tool to share those thoughts, ideas, stories, comments, analysis or any way you may want to cut it, slice it, etc....so, let the finger's dance on the keyboard begin !!!

Leave a Reply

