Inferno

It has been a while since my last posting…. no worries, still kicking. It’s just that I have been swamped at work. Anyhow, I read The Da Vinci Code when it came out few years ago. I did like it, so I got Angels and Demons afterwards. Few years later, I thought I was done with Mr Brown and then one of my daughters bought me The last symbol, so how could I say no, right?…..  well, now that Inferno is out there,  I figure I should keep the pace just for the hell of it ( Yeah, pun intended ) and read this one too.

Let alone the plot, I have been using tools on the side while reading and this book is the perfect exercise to get the most out of any electronic system available today….  let’s see, while you’re reading about Florence and don’t know what the “Palazzo Vecchio”  looks like??.. No problem, just Google it and then click on images to see lots ( and I mean lots !! ) of pictures. Once you have seen it, then you resume your lecture and you will find out that every description will make  more sense, so the reading becomes much more pleasant !!.

The scene where Robert Langdon is fleeing on the back of a scooter thru Viale Machiavelli  (Machiavelo street)… what does that street look like?  No problem, Google Maps, find the street on the map then go to the satellite view and last but not least, go to street view and voila !!!…you are actually there !!!!!…you can go thru the street at your own pace, how cool is that ??? !!!! The book has plenty of references to actual places that, if you have the time and do not get restless because reading like this takes  forever then, give it a shoot. You will see, it’s much better than watching the movie !!! (Of course I am going to watch the movie as well).

Now, getting back to the actual book. The plot does have some controversial ideas that should be addressed…. the fiction is not that far away in this particular case. I do not want to spill the beans if you have not seen the movie yet. Suffice to say, I did have a flash back while going thru some stuff in the book…. my father once said ( this is many many years ago when I was a teen……. my old man is long gone now ) he said ( I don’t even remember said it ), he said “I am not going to see this but the day will come when people will not fit in the planet”….. the thought did have an impact in me as a teen, it is still a concern today after this many years and having experience the trend of the last couple of decades. The number is getting scary…. yup, that is part of the plot.

Author: rrgindy

I just love to type whatever comes off my mind at the time..... this blog is the right tool to share those thoughts, ideas, stories, comments, analysis or any way you may want to cut it, slice it, etc....so, let the finger's dance on the keyboard begin !!!

Leave a Reply

